Posted by: betrueblog | February 22, 2009

What is your dream job?

Perhaps you’ve heard about it.  Maybe you’ve even applied for the position, as I did.  I’m talking about the “best job in the world”, at least according to Tourism Queensland (and I’m inclined to agree with them).  Check out www.islandreefjob.com and you’ll see what I mean.  The chosen candidate gets to live on Hamilton Island for six months (in a 3 bedroom house provided for him or her at no cost) and visit other islands on or near the Great Barrier Reef to sample the activities available and share his or her experiences with the world via a blog, photos, and a video diary. 

Since I am an avid snorkeler and have always wanted to go to the Great Barrier Reef, and I love to travel and to write about my adventures, this truly would be the perfect job for me.   I would do it for free in a heartbeat if I could afford to, but it’s actually a paid position!  

 Since about 15,000 people around the world have applied, the odds aren’t in my favor, but if I get this dream job, or even get to be one of the finalists flown in for an interview, you’ll hear all about it.  In fact, I’ll be so excited that anyone who crosses my path is likely to hear about it whether they want to or not!

Have you thought about what your dream job would be?  Maybe you are fortunate enough to already be doing work that you love.  If so, count your blessings!  If not, what steps can you take to move you closer to getting (or creating) your dream job?  Check out my new website, www.betruetoyourself.com, for some resources you may find helpful and details on the life coaching services I offer, and share your comments below about what your dream job would be and why.

Responses

  1. Thanks you for your great comment and I urge you to tell more people about Chris Pash’s book and our story about the whaling nursery north of Broome. We understand that there has be some economic development – gas is certainly better than oil – but we also need to continue to get Governments to focus on renewable energy sources like wind and solar power. We might be far away – in Australia – but we are with you in heart. http://is.gd/mgIT Cheers Lesley
    PS If you are on Twitter come follow me http://twitter.com/lesleydewar

  2. I submitted a video that literally rocks. Check it out.
    http://www.islandreefjob.com/#/applicants/watch/kQzXTMfDLpA


Leave a Reply

Categories

