Posted by: betrueblog | January 19, 2009

Jesus’ clone?

I won’t normally post every day but since my pastor preached a sermon this morning about being true to yourself I wanted to share it with you while it is fresh in my mind.  He talked about the fact that when Jesus says “Follow me” it is often understood to mean strive to be exactly like Jesus when the reality is that we are each unique people with our own unique talents.  Obviously there are standards of behavior we all need to uphold and Jesus is the ultimate role model of one who is totally faithful, to the point of giving his life.  We are called to love others as he loves us.  However, if we were all clones of Jesus, with the exact same thoughts and behaviors, the world would be a very boring place.  God gave us each specific gifts and made us distinct individuals for a reason.  Rather than asking “What would Jesus do?” we should ask “What does God want me to do?”  In a broad, general sense the answers to both questions may be the same – love people unconditionally, forgive, help those in need, tell them about God’s love, etc. – but the specific ways in which we do each of those things will vary.  Jesus’ first disciples, handpicked by him, had different strengths (and weaknesses!),  personalities, communication styles, and ways of making decisions, just as we do.  The Bible says clearly that there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit, varieties of services, but the same Lord, and varieties of activities, but it is the same God who activates all of them in everyone, and they are all manifestations of the Spirit for the common good. (See First Corinthians Chapter 12)

Responses

  1. Very nice

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Earl. I think our perspectives are actually quite similar. I agree with you that we are called to think and behave like Jesus in a general sense; my point was that, as you said about the disciples, we each have our own unique personalities, and therefore even though all Christians should strive to follow Christ’s example we will have different ways of doing that.

    Some will share the Gospel through leading worship, others through teaching, others through missionary work, others through vocal or instrumental music, because God has given each of us different gifts.

    Our specific thoughts and actions will therefore vary, and that diversity is a wonderful thing!

  3. Several thoughts on how I understand the “Follow Me” found in scripture.

    First, Jesus said “Follow me and I will make you fishers of men”. He was calling His apostles and disciples to walk with Him as He taught them Kingdom truths, as He modeled His expectations for them as He sent them out into the world to share the gospel message. Of course they had their own unique personalities but Jesus expected His message to be “cloned” by His apostles and disciples all the while utilizing their unique gifts and talents to spread this good news.

    Secondly, I have to respectfully disagree 100% with the statement that, “if we were all clones of Jesus, with the exact same thoughts and behaviors, the world would be a very boring place”. I’ll take “boring” every day if it means thinking and behaving like Jesus, that is thinking perfect (sinless) thoughts and motives, and behaving in perfect ways (no more killing, raping, hating, lying, stealing, drunkenness, greed, debauchery, idolatry, adultery, fornication, etc.)

    Lastly, “Rather than asking ‘What would Jesus do?’ we should ask ‘What does God want me to do?’. The way I see it either question gets the same result. If we try to do what we believe Jesus would do, the result will be God-honoring and bare good fruit. If we were to ask God what He wants us to do I’m positive He would answer, “Follow Jesus, do what He does or would do, that’s why I sent Him, to show you how I expect you to live, love, serve and give, even though I know you aren’t perfect and will always fall short of my expectations. Believe that Jesus is My Son, God incarnate, whom I sent into the world to save that which is lost by shedding His blood and dying on a cross for the forgiveness of your sins and then arising from the dead so that all who believe in Him will not perish but have eternal life. See John 14:6, “Jesus said, I am the Way, the Truth and the Life and no one comes to the Father except through Me”.

    I just see it differently than the preacher and the first post and that’s what makes us disciples of Christ unique!

  4. Hey love that perspective….so true! (The part about now asking “what would Jesus do” but rather asking what would God have me do.)

    The photo on your header is just beautiful and you are a wonderful writer.

    Happy blogging! It’s addictive; I warn you. 😉
    t


Leave a Reply

Categories

