Posted by: betrueblog | January 18, 2009

Share your definition of being true to yourself

What does it mean to be true to yourself?  To me, it means living your life in a way that reflects your core values and enables you to be all that you were meant to be.  It means being who you really are, not who someone else thinks you should be, or who you think you have to be to be popular or make money or achieve some other superficial goal.

Please share what you think it means to be true to yourself, and your joys and struggles as you try to act in ways that nurture your highest and best self.

Responses

  1. Here’s my take on staying true to yourself: Just like any other time that you’ve made a decision to change, staying true to yourself is going to take time and practice. I can tell you from firsthand experience that being able to “own up” to who you are and what you do can be such a liberating experience. When you stop pointing the finger at him or her and blaming them for your unhappiness or lack of motivation, you are freeing yourself from the exact things that could be holding you back. And how amazing it begins to feel once you start to understand that you are in control of your destiny!

  2. Most of us put on masks at least some of the time, but it is very freeing to take them off and just be who you really are. If people don’t love you no matter what, are they truly your friends anyway? You don’t have to bare your soul to everyone you meet, but if you can’t be your true self around them you also don’t have to spend much time with them and will probably be happier if you don’t!

    When you truly love yourself and understand that God created and loves the REAL you and wants you to be true to yourself in order to fulfill your life’s purpose, it becomes easier to do in every situation. Check out some of the suggested resources on my website, http://www.betruetoyourself.com, especially the 48 Days materials, for help with this, and you may also want to sign up for my FREE monthly newsletter.

  3. This has been my struggle….to be true to myself. I can be myself with my husband because I know he is going to love me no matter what. But then I put on this mask with everyone else. It has become such a habit that I have done for so long, that people would really think something was wrong with me if they saw the “real” Darlene. Yet I know that God is telling me to “take off the mask”. I want and need this freedom, because being bound to what people think is truly not a good thing. thanks to everyone for your words of wisdom and encouragement.

  4. I remember going to visit Frederic when I was a child. He was indeed a remarkable man with a great outlook on life. Even with the extreme limitation of being confined to an iron lung and unable to walk or leave the house or do any of the activities most of us take for granted, he made the most of his life and clearly his faith sustained him and gave him the ultimate hope that nothing in this life can destroy.

  5. Wendi,
    The most inspiring person I ever met was Frederic Cann. I’m sure I’ve told you about him before, but he was a totally healthy and athletic 17 year old when he became totally paralyzed by polio and lived to age 62 confined to an iron lung. He actually managed to earn over $20,000 a year in 3 businesses he started while confined. He awoke everyday by saying thank you God for another day. He literally had more friends than anyone I ever knew. He was extremely well read, turning the pages with a stick in his mouth. He never ever felt sorry for himself nor was he ever bitter at his fate. His faith in God and Jesus as his Savior inspired all who knew him.

  6. Wendi,
    The responses to your hunt for the meaning for being true to yourself produced several thoughts of great value. A song I learned when I was very young came to my mind and I want to share them with you. The words to the song are: I would be true, for there are those who trust me; I would be pure, for there are those who care; I would be strong, for there is much to suffer; I would be brave, for there is much to dare. I would be friend of all the foe, the friend-less; I would be giving, and forget the gift; I would be humble, for I know my weakness; I would look up, and laugh, and love, and lift. (The reference to lift seems to me to be prayers we need to lift frequently to be in close fellowship with The Mighty One, Counselor, Redeemer, and Friend.)

    Be true to yourself by trusting The Great I AM “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding, but in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

  7. within ME). I have to learn to embrace the God-given talent that I was born with. I have to search out & learn to develop these talents to do God’s work. I have to keep my heart open & realize & be grateful for the gift of life that God has given me. My purpose is to use this life to glorify Him. And, IF I can learn these things and be TRUE TO MYSELF (that part of me created in His image) – He WILL bless me in my efforts & multiply my healing as I share & help others to heal. I have had the greatest blessings already in a book by Jay Peroni, “Faith Based Millionaire” and an article by Bob Proctor, “Purpose, Vision, Goals”. They both state that all these things MUST be aligned in order to be successful and to go in the right direction that we are meant to go.
    Being ‘true to yourself’ is all about that alignment. It’s all about discovering who God really meant for you to be, so that you can experience the joy of life you were born to.

  8. remember..ALWAYS BE TRUE TO YOURSELF!!”
    I really never realized exactly what that meant until now.

    Sorry, this appears in 2 separate posts – I hit the wrong key & post submitted b4 I finished.

    Long story short – After 14 years of gradual healing from several traumatic experiences – I am beginning to understand. God created me with a very unique set of talents to help me achieve His very unique purpose for my life here on earth. In order to identify & achieve MY PURPOSE, in order to feel FULFILLED & COMPLETE – I have to listen to MYSELF (to what is TRUE

  9. My website will be up & running hopefully by the end of January. The site is about this very thing – ‘being true to myself’. My mother, who passed away in April 2008 used to say to me, when I was young – “Susie, no matter what else you do in life, there is one thing you MUST

  10. It is an interesting concept… and works just fine if you are in tune with the good Godly parts of your unique personality and are aware of the ‘bits’ of you that are fuelled by fear, unbelief, responses patterns to childhood events, etc etc…

    Have a look at my friend’s site: http://www.heartstyles.com.au/
    I found their work so effective at helping me identify my functional and dysfunctional behaviours.

    Afterall – being “true” to a dysfunctional self is going to lead to heartache, so how valuable is really knowing yourself, eh? Knowing why you behave in certain ways… and whether it is a Godly response or not.

  11. I’d define being true to yourself as the moments when we do what we know is right either because it is what we were made to do on this earth and it brings great value to others around us AND when we do what we know is right despite how we feel.

    – andy traub
    http://www.mrfreetech.com

  12. Hi Wendi

    Saw your request on 48days.net and here I am. What does it mean to “be true to yourself”, for me it means following the path that you design based on your dreams, abilities and talents (thanks Dan!). That path has lead me to “go solar” as it is not only economically viable but also protects the world for today and tomorrow. I want my children to be able to experience the beauty of our planet. Solar can provide the energy we need to run our homes and businesses. Alternate energy (alternate to fossil fuels) does not need to be difficult or hard to understand, that is what I a trying to do with the products I offer, takes the first baby steps to not having a bigger electrical bill. It will take people to do this, not the government, people, those who want to make a choice and want to choose what is best for them, their families and the environment.

  13. Well that is tough one for me because I have been a people pleaser all my life and always felt left of center. NOW, I know I don’t have to please anyone and though I have momentary struggles with the fact that I feel like a cook because I love jazz, art, the Green life, women’s issues & more-plus, I want mylife and work to be about these things, I realize that I am fine. I have to be true to myself, true to how God made me to be, true to what passions He stirred inside of me. Trying to please others had lead to nothing but serious trouble in my life. Really bad. There is a difference between being a good person, a kind person and being an unhealthy people pleaser. I, too, would like everyone to visit my blog and leave a comment, follow it too, if you can. It is http://www.greenischiclife.blogspot.com
    Thank you!

  14. Hi Wendi,

    Thanks for starting this blog post. This is a subject that can bring up a lot of positive. Being a follower of Christ, and he being the king of positive thinking, I hunger to live a life full of hope.

    To me, being true to ones-self means to able to take off our mask (which I struggle with) and to live life as a free-willed experience. What I mean by this is to be totally and unconditionally free to do anything or to be anything you and I want/need to do/be. Of course they’re are discretions to take with all this freedom. We are to seek God’s will before we can be truely successful. Other-wise we blow it! Reason being; if we go against God’s will, we will be going against who we are. God skillfully designed us with a DNA and person unlike anyone else on the planet. We all have a unique mission in life. When we seek this, and find this, then and only then will we be true to our-self. Then, we will be living life to it’s fullest.

  15. That’ll preach. For a long time I was angry at God for making me weird. I’m the type of guy who would rig a weedeater engine on a bicycle. But now I see differently: that odd nature is exactly what many people need in this economy.

    So yeah being true to yourself honors God by accepting the way he made you to be and doing the things he designed you to do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

